Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Club – Mar. 2024 – Astoria

March 19 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Astoria
Astoria
Book Club – Mar. 2024 – Astoria

Cost: Free

Astoria - Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast.

See below to learn more about this event.

Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation’s landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark’s began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment’s leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87342798503

Meeting ID: 873 4279 8503

Apostle Island Booksellers
112 Rittenhouse Avenue
Bayfield, WI
715-779-0200
Website

Honest Dog Books
40 S. Second St. #1455
Bayfield, WI
715-779-5223
Website

Madeline Island Library
1 Library St.
La Pointe, WI
(715)747-3662
Website

 

Details

Date:
March 19
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Book Club Zoom
View Venue Website