Template Event

La Pointe Center Gallery 794 Chebomnicon Bay Road, La Pointe, WI, United States

Test Excerpt

Book Club – Feb. 2024 – Tyranny of the Minority

Book Club Zoom

Tyranny of the Minority -

America is undergoing a massive experiment: It is moving, in fits and starts, toward a multiracial democracy, something few societies have ever done. But the prospect of change has sparked an authoritarian backlash that threatens the very foundations of our political system. Why is democracy under assault here, and not in other wealthy, diversifying nations? And what can we do to save it?

Book Club – Mar. 2024 – Astoria

Book Club Zoom

Astoria - Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast.

Madeline Island Book Club – Apr. 2024 – Demon Copperhead

Book Club Zoom

Demon Copperhead -

Set in the mountains of southern Appalachia, Demon Copperhead is the story of a boy born to a teenaged single mother in a single-wide trailer, with no assets beyond his dead father’s good looks and copper-colored hair, a caustic wit, and a fierce talent for survival. Relayed in his own unsparing voice, Demon braves the modern perils of foster care, child labor, derelict schools, athletic success, addiction, disastrous loves, and crushing losses.